Best cabinet design

i need to build some wall cabinets to free up floor space in the new shop. I need about 10 -12 ft of units. probably 15in deep and 18 - 24 high. i have never tried to do this before so I have a raft of questions. i plan on using 3/4 plywood unless there is a reason not to.
What is the best corner joint to use? I have the bits to do lock joints if that’s best.
Should I build individual boxes and link them together or build longer units and put in separators?
If I use 3/4 for construction should the back panels be that thick or something less?
Do you favor rabitting in the shelves or using pins to keep them adjustable.
Anything else I need to consider?
Thanks in advance for your help.

Bill

What I did was buy a bunch of used rollarounds off Craigs list some stackable ones for above the base units, that takes care of lots of the smaller tools and also built wooden cabinets for most all of the power tools. I found that the 1/2" melamine plywood for the carcasses and the drawers is excellent choice. Just make boxes and mount drawer slides on the sides the drawer boxes with hardwood fronts attached. The lock miter,lock rabbit, box joints, or half lap all work good on the drawer boxes.
The tools that had steel stands I built boxes to go between the legs, and had sloping sides to match the legs with graduated drawers.
Herb

Thanks, I don’t have the floor space for the rollaways but I will sure build in units in the legs.

1 Like

I’ve built a few cabinets. Generally 3/4 ply feels rock solid. 1/2 doesn’t feel rock solid but I haven’t had any problems with it. I used brad nails and glue on butt joints for all the joinery, and that’s plenty strong. Cutting rabbets would make assembly easier but I don’t think it matters for the strength.

Work (day job) cabinet. Everything 3/4 ply, with edge banding: